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Qualifications for Office

Before you begin campaigning, meeting voters, or collecting campaign donations, you will want to ensure that you

meet certain requirements to hold office. Review the table below to determine whether you meet the requirements

of the office you plan to seek.

Political Parties

Utah state law does not regulate the way that political parties govern themselves. Each party is responsible
for creating their own by-laws and nominating procedures.

What is the difference between Partisan and Non-partisan?

Partisan candidates:

If you plan on running as a party candidate and you meet the requirements for the particular office described in the

chart on page 4, you must be a member of that particular party at the time of filing your Declaration of Candidacy
documents*. To run for federal office, statewide executive, legislative, or the state board of education as a partisan
candidate, refer to pages 7-17.

*Some parties may have additional requirements to be eligible to declare as a party candidate. You will want to contact party leaders to

ensure that you meet all the requirements.

Non-partisan candidates:

If you wish to not take part in the political party system and you meet the requirements for the particular office described in
the chart on page 4, you are able to file a Declaration of Candidacy as an unaffiliated or write-in candidate. To run for federal
office, statewide executive, legislative, or the state board of education as a non-partisan candidate, refer to pages 18-21.

Utah Political Parties:

Education**

board district

cannot hold any public
office of profit or trust?

Residency Citizenship Other Qualifications
US. Senate 30 Resident of Utah when U.S. Citizen for 9 i 6 years
elected years
U.5. House o.f 25 Resident of Utah when elected U.S. Citizen for7 - 2 years
Representatives years
Qualified voter'; not
State Treasurer 25 Resident of Utah for 5 years U.S. Citizen convicted of certain 4 years
crimes?
Resident of Utah for 3 years; Qualified voter’; not con-
6 months living in the Senate . victed of certain crimes? 4 years
Utah State Senate 2 district prior to the last day U:S. Citizen cannot hold any public
of filing office of profit or trust?
Resident of Utah for 3 years; Qualified voter'; not con-
Utah State House of 25 6 months living in the House USS. Citizen victed of certain crimes?; 2 vears
Representatives district prior to the last day o cannot hold any public y
of filing office of profit or trust?
Qualified voter'; not con-
State Board of 18 1 year living in the school USS. Citizen victed of certain crimes? 4years

US Const., Article |, section 2-3; UT Const. Article VI, section 5; UT Const. Article VII, Section 3; UCA 20A-14-103; UCA 20A-2-101.5

** State Board of Education candidates cannot have been convicted of a grievous sexual offense against a child, as
defined in Utah Code 76-1-601.

! A qualified voter meets the following requirements:
. Citizen of the United States;
«  Atleast 18 years old and a resident of Utah for 30 days by the date of the election; and
+  Registered to vote in Utah.

2 An individual convicted of certain crimes loses the right to hold office until convictions have been expunged OR the

individual meets all of the following requirements:
« 10years have passed since the individual’s most recent felony conviction;
«  Theindividual paid all court-ordered restitution and fines; and
«  Theindividual completed probation, granted parole, or completed the term of incarceration associated with the

felony.

«  Anindividual convicted of an election related misdemeanor has restored their rights to hold office according to

Utah Code 20A-2-101.3.

3 No person holding any public office of profit or trust under authority of the United States, or of this State, shall be

a member of the Legislature: provided that appointments in the State Militia, and the offices of notary public, justice of
the peace, United States commissioner, and postmaster of the fourth class, shall not, within the meaning of this
section, be considered offices of profit or trust (see Utah Constitution Article VI, Section 6).

Constitution Party - www.utahconstitutionparty.com; 801-560-7978

Democratic Party - www.utahdemocrats.org; 801-328-1212
Independent American Party - japutah.org; 801-970-1076
Libertarian Party - www.libertarianutah.org; 866-511-8587

Republican Party - www.utgop.org; 801-533-9777
United Utah Party - www.unitedutah.org; 385-325-1620

How do | join a party or change my party affiliation? Simply fill out a new voter registration form and select the
party that you wish to be affiliated with. You can update your voter registration information online at
voter.utah.gov or contact your county clerk for assistance.
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Selecting your path to become a candidate

You have several paths from which to select to become a candidate. If you want to be a partisan (political party)
candidate, you have three options:

» Participate in your political party’s caucus and convention system.
«  Gather signatures from voters.

- Participate in your political party’s caucus and convention system and gather signatures from voters.

If you prefer not to be a partisan candidate, you can be an unaffiliated candidate or a write-in candidate. An
unaffiliated candidate’s name appears on the ballot, but a write-in candidate’s name does not appear on the ballot.
Below is a simple chart that illustrates the basic requirements for each path.

If you are reading this online, click anywhere on a section below to jump to the requirements.

Partisan Candidates

Non-Partisan Candidates

-

Convention
Path

(Pages 7-10)

Gathering
Signatures Path

(Pages 11-17)

Convention &
Gathering
Signatures Path
Pages 7-17)

Unaffiliated
Candidates

(Pages 18-22)

Write-in
Candidates
(Pages 23-24)

1. Get to know the
convention system

2. Declare
candidacy

3. Attend your party’s
convention

4. Primary election

5. General election

1. Determine your
signature
requirement

2. Declare intent to
gather signatures

3. Gather signatures
4. Declare candidacy

5. Submit petition
signatures for review

6. Primary election

7. General election

1. Get to know the
convention system

2. Determine your
signature

requirement

3. Declare intent to
gather signatures

4, Gather signatures
5. Declare candidacy

6. Submit petition
signatures for review

7. Attend your party’s
convention

8. Primary election

9. General election

1. Determine your
signature
requirement & obtain
petition template

2. Gather signatures

3. Submit signatures
for verification

4. Submit the verified
signatures & declare
candidacy

5. General election

1. Declare
Candidacy

2. General election

(Online version: click anywhere on a section below to jump to the requirements)

Partisan Candidates: Convention Path

Partisan Candidates
Convention Path

UCA 20A-9-407; UCA 20A-9-408.5

The convention system is one path partisan candidates can take to get their name on the primary election
ballot. If you select this path, you must complete 3 steps:

1. Get to know the convention system (continue reading this page).

2. Declare candidacy between February 28, 2022 and 5:00 p.m. on March 4, 2022 (pages 8-10).
3. Attend your party’s convention (page 10).

Step 1: Get to know your convention system*

*Each political party will have a unique process. This is a general description of how the process works.

Caucus
Meetings

A caucus is a neighborhood meeting of a Caucus Meetings

political party’s members. Caucuses are typically
held in March/April. During the meeting, caucus

members select representatives from the caucus
to attend either the county or state convention.
These representatives are known as delegates. State County

Delegates Delegates

Delegates gather at the party’s conventions to

County & State
Conventions

nominate candidates.

Delegates at the county convention vote for
candidates for county and legislative offices that

lie entirely within one county. State County
Convention Convention

Delegates at the state convention vote for

candidates for federal, statewide, legislative, and (Federal, (single-county

state school board offices that are located within statewide

candidates)

. . constitutional,
multiple counties.
and multi-county

candidates)

Candidates-who-+receive-a-certain——
percentage of delegates’ votes will be

Primary
Election

nominated and their name will be placed on the

Primary Election

primary ballot. The Primary Election will be held on
Tuesday, June 28, 2022.
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Partisan Candidates: Convention Path

Step 2: Declare Candidacy

UCA 20A-9-201, UCA 20A-9-202, UCA 20A-9-206, UCA 20A-9-407, UCA 20A-9-701

All candidates must declare candidacy with their filing officer. If you choose to gather signatures in addition to
participating in your party’s convention, you do not need to declare candidacy twice.

Use this chart to determine who your filing officer is:

County Clerk in Resident County

Office of Lieutenant Governor

Utah State House of Representatives
Utah State Senate
State Board of Education

U.S. Senate
U.S. House of Representatives
State Treasurer

Utah State House of Representatives
Utah State Senate

When do | declare
candidacy?

Where do | declare
candidacy?

What paperwork do |
need to declare
candidacy?

You must declare candidacy between Monday, February 28, 2022 and
5:00 p.m. on Friday, March 4 2022*. Late declarations cannot be
accepted.

Federal and statewide executive candidates file in-person with the Lieutenant Governor’s
office. State House and Senate candidates may file in either their respective county clerk’s
office or the Lieutenant Governor’s office.

You must submit the forms listed below to declare candidacy. Your filing officer will
make these forms available during the filing period. After you file the forms they will

be posted on_vote.utah.gov.

Declaration of Candidacy Form. This form requires your name, contact
information, party, and whether you will go through convention, gather
signatures, or both. You may also provide your campaign’s email address and website.

Conflict of Interest Form. (File prior to declaring). This form is required for
Utah legislative and statewide executive office candidates (not candidates for U.S. House
of Representatives). The process for filing this form requires each candidate to file online
at disclosures.utah.gov. Here are the steps that a candidate must take to submit this form:

1. Create a username and register your campaign (follow instructions on page 31)
2. After creating your account and registering the page, return to the
disclosures.utah.gov home page. (Instructions continued on next page)

What paperwork do |
need to declare
candidacy?

(cont. from previous page)

What fees do | need to
pay?

What if | can’t declare
candidacy in person?

Partisan Candidates: Convention Path

3. Click on“My Folder”on the left hand
side of the screen.

4. Click“Submit or Update Conflict of
Interest Forms”

5. Click“Begin a new Conflict of

Interest Form.

6. Fill out the required fields and submit

the form. This form must be completed prior to declaring candidacy.

Pledge of Fair Campaign Practices (optional). This is a pledge to conduct

your campaign according to the statements outlined in the pledge.

Address Protection Form (optional). This form allows a candidate to have

their residential or mailing address classified as a protected record. If you

choose to file this form, you must provide the filing office another address or phone

(0)jilel:] Filing Fee

number where you may be contacted.

You must pay a filing fee when you
declare candidacy. The table to the right
lists the filing fee for each office.

If you are unable to pay due to financial
hardship, you may file an affidavit of
impecuniosity. The filing officer may ask
you to provide evidence of your inability
to pay and then determine whether the
fee will be waived.

If you are located outside of Utah during
the entire declaration of candidacy
period, you can designate another
individual to file your declaration
paperwork on your behalf.

U.S. Senate $1,355
U.S. House of Representatives $485
State Treasurer $792.50
State Senator $114.12
State House of Representatives $82.06
State Board of Education $99.88
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What if | can't declare
candidacy in person?

(cont. from previous page)

How do | pay my filing
fee?

Partisan Candidates: Convention Path

Your signature must be notarized on the declaration of candidacy—your

designated agent cannot sign for you. To file on your behalf, the designated agent must
file your paperwork in-person with your filing officer during the declaration period. The
designated agent must also use an electronic device that allows you and the filing officer

to hear and see each other (Facetime).

Payment of filing fees to the Office of the Lieutenant Governor can be

made with all major credit cards, personal check, or cash (with exact
change). You will want to contact your county clerk about acceptable payment
methods, as they could vary.

Step 3: Attend your party’s convention

Partisan Candidates: Gathering Signatures Path

Partisan Candidates
Gathering Signatures Path

UCA 20A-9-407

Which convention do |
attend?

When are conventions
held?

Are there other
requirements?

If you are a candidate for a legislative or state board of education office that is
located entirely within a single county, you will likely attend your party’s county

convention.

If you are a candidate for federal, statewide executive office, or multi-county
legislative or state board of education office, you will likely attend your party’s
statewide convention. Each party may have different rules regarding convention
attendance.

Reach out to your party leaders to inquire about convention if you are
unsure about which convention to attend.

County conventions are typically held between late March and mid-April. State
conventions are typically held in late April after the county conventions. Contact
your party (refer to page 5) to determine the exact date of your convention.

Your party’s constitution or bylaws may require you to perform additional steps

to qualify for the convention. You should contact your party (refer to page 5) to
determine if any additional steps exist.

10

UCA 20A-9-201, UCA 20A-9-202, UCA 20A-9-406, UCA 20A-9-408, UCA 20A-9-408.5, UCA 20A-9-409

Gathering voters’ signatures is one path partisan candidates can take to get their name on the
primary election ballot. If you select this path, you must complete 5 steps:

—_

Determine your signature requirement (continue reading this page).

Declare intent to gather signatures between January 3, 2022 and 5:00 p.m. on March 4, 2022 (page 12).
Begin gathering signatures (pages 12-14).

Declare candidacy between February 28, 2022 and 5:00 p.m. on March 4, 2022 (pages 14-15).

oA N

Submit petition signatures at least 2 weeks before your convention (pages 16-17).

Step 1: Determine your signature requirement

How many signatures do The number of signatures you need to gather depends on the office you are seeking.
I need to gather? The table below outlines signature requirements.
UCA 20A-9-408
(0)jjles] Valid Signatures Required
U.S. Senate 28,000
U.S. House of Representatives 7,000
Statewide Offices 28,000
State Senator 2,000
State House of Representatives 1,000
The lesser of 2,000 registered voters permitted
to vote in the Primary Election in the District,
State Board of Education OR 3% of registered voters affiliated with the
political party in the District.

Who can sign my A good rule of thumb is to collect more signatures than what is required because
petitions? not every signature you collect will be valid.

All signers must meet the following requirements in order for their signature
to be considered valid:

+ Registered to vote in Utah (or will be registered before the signature is verified
by the election officer).

« Livein the district or area of the office you are seeking.
«  Allowed to vote in your party’s primary election.

- Did not sign a petition for another candidate running for the same office.

11
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Partisan Candidates: Gathering Signatures Path

Step 2: Declare intent to gather signatures

Step 3: Gather signatures

UCA 20A-9-408

Before you begin to gather signatures, you must declare an intent to gather signatures. You may not collect

any signatures before filing this notice. Declaring your intent is not the same as declaring for

candidacy.

When do | declare my
intent to gather
signatures?

Where do | declare my
intent?

How do | declare my
intent?

Submitting In-person
or Electronically

Exceptions

Forms

You must declare your intent to gather signatures between January 3, 2022
and 5:00 p.m. on March 4, 2022. Late submissions cannot be accepted.

Federal, statewide executive, and legislative candidates file with the Lieutenant
Governor’s Office. All other candidates, regardless of whether they are multi- or
single-county candidates, file with the county clerk of their county of residence.

You need to submit one form to declare your intent to gather signatures. Your filing
officer will make this form available during the filing period. Your form will be
posted on www.vote.utah.gov. There is no fee to declare your intent to gather
signatures.

Candidates filing that file with the Lieutenant Governor’s Office may file in-person or
electronically over Facetime. Candidates that file electronically will need to meet with a
member of the lieutenant governor’s staff electronically to verify the information on the
intent to gather signature page before receiving a packet.

The candidate is required to fill out the form prior to submitting it to the filing officer. For
candidates that file with the county clerk, this option may not be available. Please contact
them for assistance.

Please note this only applies to declaring intent to gather signatures. Candidates
will still be required to submit their declaration of candidacy in person, unless the
candidate is out of the state during the entire declaration period.

Once you submit your form, the filing officer will provide you with
instructions and 3 documents to compile your petition packets:

- Petition cover sheet (Microsoft Word format)
+  Petition signature sheet (PDF format)

«  Petition verification sheet (PDF format)

Please note that these petition materials differ from those of unaffiliated
candidate petitions. Do not use unaffiliated candidate petitions.

12

UCA 20A-9-405, UCA 20A-9-408

You may begin gathering signatures after you file your declaration of intent to gather signatures. The first thing to do is
compile your petition packets.

Barcodes on petition ma- You will notice there is a barcode on your petition packet materials. These unique
terials barcodes are linked to you, so do not use or share petition materials with other
campaigns or candidates.

Printing, binding, You are responsible for printing and binding your petition packets. They must be bound
&arranging petition across the top (long edge of paper) in at least 3 places using either staples or spiral
packets binding. Packets must be bound before they are circulated, and they cannot be taken

apart or rearranged once they are bound. Your packets may be rejected if you do so.

13
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Printing, binding,
& arranging petition
packets (cont.)

Who can circulate
petitions?

Responsibilities of
petition circulators

Partisan Candidates: Gathering Signatures Path

Petition packets must include 3 sheets and be arranged in the order below.

Cover Sheet

0 This indicates the office you are seeking,
your name, party affiliation, and address.
The Microsoft Word format will allow
you to insert your photograph.

Each petition packet needs 1 cover
sheet.

Signature Sheet

e This is where voters will sign your
petition. Voters provide their name,

signature, address, and the date. They
have the option of providing their age or
birth date.

Each petition packet may have up to 50
signature sheets.

Verification Sheet
e The person circulating the petition packet
must complete this sheet. The circulator
must count the number of signatures in the
packet and sign. A packet must be circulated
by only one person.

Each petition packet needs 1 verification
sheet.

Any resident of Utah who is over 18 years of age may circulate a petition. They do
not need to be registered to vote; however, the filing officer can better verify the
circulator’s age if they are registered to vote. If a circulator does not meet these
requirements, the signatures they gathered are not valid.

Circulators must complete and sign the verification sheet of every petition packet
they use to gather signatures. Circulators cannot sign the signature sheets of any
petitions they circulate-they must sign a petition packet of another circulator if
they wish to sign the petition.

Each petition packet must be used by only one circulator. If you have multiple
circulators, they will each need one packet.

Petition circulators should receive permission from the appropriate entity or owner
if they want to gather signatures in private and public areas.

14

Partisan Candidates: Gathering Signatures Path

Paid signature gatherers You can pay circulators to gather signatures. If you choose to do so, keep these
rules in mind:

«  Gatherers cannot be paid based on the total number of signatures they
collect.

«  Gatherers can be paid based on the total number of valid signatures they
collect, an hourly rate, or any other legal method of payment.

«  Using companies that offer signature collection services is allowed, but
they must follow all applicable state laws.

Volunteer signature You can also use volunteers to gather signatures. Volunteers and their time do not
gatherers qualify as campaign contributions. However, if volunteers are paid by a third party

(e.g., a political action committee or corporation), this would be considered an
in-kind contribution from the third party.

Refer to page 27 for more information on in-kind contributions.

L - If an individual wishes to sign your petition but is not registered to vote or affiliated
Registering petition

signers to vote with your party*, you may provide them with a registration form. Please ensure that

the completed registration form is submitted to the appropriate county clerk
before you submit the individual’s petition signature.

*Some parties do not require voters to register with their party in order to sign a
petition or vote in the party’s primary. You will want to contact your party leadership
to determine your party’s policies on this matter.

County clerks cannot guarantee that a voter registration form will be

processed prior to the petition signature.

Step 4: Declare candidacy

UCA 20A-9-408.5

All candidates must declare candidacy with their filing officer. Declaring candidacy is not the same as
declaring your intent to gather signatures. If you choose to participate in your party’s convention in addition
to gathering signatures, you do not need to declare candidacy twice.

When do | declare You must declare candidacy between Monday, February 28, 2022 and 5:00 p.m.
candidacy? on Friday, March 4, 2022*. Late declarations cannot be accepted.

Where do | declare Federal and statewide constitutional candidates file in-person with the Lieutenant
candidacy? Governor’s Office. State House and Senate candidates may file at their respective county

clerk’s office or in the Lieutenant Governor’s office.

All other candidates, regardless of whether they are multi- or single-county candidates,
file with the county clerk of their county of residence.

How do | declare You must submit the forms listed on the next page to declare candidacy. Your filing
candidacy? officer will make these forms available during the filing period. After you filed the
forms they will be posted, and publicly accessible, on vote.utah.gov.

15
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How do | declare
candidacy? (cont.)

What fees do | need to
pay?

Partisan Candidates: Gathering Signatures Path

Declaration of Candidacy Form. This form requires your name, contact
information, party, and whether you will go through convention, gather
signatures, or both. You may also provide your campaign’s email address, and website.

Conflict of Interest Form. (File prior to declaring). This form is required for
Utah legislative and statewide executive office candidates (not candidates for U.S. Senate
and House of Representatives). The process for filing this form is different in 2020 from
previous years and requires each candidate to file online at disclosures.utah.gov. Here are

the steps that a candidate must take to submit this form:

1. Create a username and register your campaign (follow instructions on page 33)

2. After creating your account and registering the page, return to the
disclosures.utah.gov home page.

3. Click on“My Folder”on the left hand
side of the screen.

4. Click“Submit or Update Conflict of
Interest Forms”

Partisan Candidates: Gathering Signatures Path

What fees do | need to
pay? (cont.)

What if | can’t declare If you are located outside of Utah during | U-S- Senate

to pay and then determine whether the
. . (0]jjle] Filing Fee
fee will be waived.

candidacy in person? the entire declaration of candidacy

period, you can designate another

individual to file your declaration
paperwork on your behalf. Your

signature must be notarized on the
declaration of candidacy-your

designated agent cannot sign for you.

In order to file on your behalf, the

designated agent must file your paper-

$1,355
U.S. House of Representatives $485
State Treasurer $792.50
State Senator $114.12
State House of Representatives $82.06
State Board of Education $99.88

work in-person with your filing officer
during the declaration period. The desig-
nated agent must also use an electronic de-
vice that allows you and the filing officer to
hear and see each other (Facetime) when
you declare candidacy.

Step 5: Submit petition signatures for review

5. Click”Begin a new Conflict of
Interest Form.”

6. Fill out the required fields and submit
the form. This form must be completed prior to declaring candidacy.

Pledge of Fair Campaign Practices (optional). This is a pledge to conduct
your campaign according to the statements outlined in the pledge.

Address Protection Form (optional). This form allows a candidate to have

their residential or mailing address classified as a protected record. If you
choose to file this form, you must provide the filing office another address or phone
number where you may be contacted.

You must pay a filing fee when you declare candidacy. The table on the next page
lists the filing fee for each office.

If you are unable to pay due to financial hardship, you may file an affidavit of
impecuniosity. The filing officer may ask you to provide evidence of your inability
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UCA 20A-9-408

When do | submit
petition signatures?

if the 2 week deadline falls on a weekend or holiday. You may submit petition
signatures any time before this deadline.

quired number of valid signatures with your first submission.

Where do | submit

petition signatures? ) . .
must submit petition signatures to the county clerk.
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You must submit petition signatures no later than 2 weeks prior to your
party’s nominating convention-even if you are not participating in the
convention process. The deadline will be extended to the following business day

You must also obtain the required number of signatures before you submit them for
verification. For example, if you are required to obtain 1,000 signatures, you cannot
submit any petition signatures until you have collected at least 1,000 signatures.

You are encouraged to submit your petition signatures earlier than the deadline.
This will allow you to gather and submit more signatures if you fail to reach the re-

All federal, statewide executive office, and multi-county candidates must submit
petition signatures to the Lieutenant Governor’s Office. Single-county candidates



http://www.disclosures.utah.gov
http://disclosures.utah.gov
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S408.html

How do | submit petition
signatures?

Can | supplement my
petition signatures?

How will petition
signatures be verified?

When will petition
signatures be verified?

How will I know if |
meet the signature
requirement?

Partisan Candidates: Gathering Signatures Path

Unaffiliated Candidates

You or a designated agent must submit your petition signatures in-person fﬁ | . d d . d
and complete a petition submission form that includes the following U n a I ate Ca n I ates

information:

« Name and contact information.
«  Estimated number of petition packets being submitted.

«  Estimated number of signatures being submitted.

If you prefer not to participate in the political party process, you can run for office as an unaffiliated candidate. As an
unaffiliated candidate, you are entitled to all the rights and subject to all the regulations and penalties of political
party candidates. You will have your name printed on the ballot, but your name will be accompanied with a short

explanation that you are not affiliated with a political party. Follow the 4 steps below to become an unaffiliated

- You or your designated agent’s signature.
Y 9 9 9 candidate:

After you submit this form and your petitions, the election official will provide a
copy of the form. Keep this copy for your records.

1. Determine your signature requirement and obtain petition templates (continue reading this page).

2. Gather signatures (pages 19-20).
Yes. You may submit additional petition signatures if it is before the deadline and 3. Submit signatures to county clerks for verification (page 20).
you have not yet obtained the required number of signatures. The requirements to 4. Submit the verified signatures and declare candidacy between February 28, 2022 and 5:00 p.m. on
submit supplemental signatures are identical to those of your first submission. March 4, 2022 (pages 21-22).
Election officials will verify that each signer in your petition is qualified to sign Step 1: Determine your signature requirement and obtain petition template

(refer to page 11 to read about these qualifications).
UCA 20A-9-502

Election officials will also verify petitions in the order in which they are received. If
How many signatures do

our opponent submits their petition before you, election officials will verify your
y PP P y vy I need to gather?

opponent’s entire petition before yours.

A submission of supplemental signatures will be considered a new
submission and will take its place at the bottom of the verification order.

Voters may only sign for one candidate per office. If a voter signs two separate Who can sign my
L
candidate petitions for the same office, the candidate who submits the signature petition:

first will receive credit for the signature.

Election officials will verify your petition signatures until you meet the signature
requirement.

The time required to verify your petition signatures will depend on the size of your
petition and the number of petitions submitted before yours. Avoid submitting your
petition near the deadline, as the number of submissions is expected to increase
during that period of time.

Regardless of your petition size and submission date, election officials will complete Where can | obtain
the verification of your petition within 14 days after the signatures are submitted, petition templates?
OR, atleast 1 day prior to your party’s convention (13 days after the submission

deadline)-whichever is earlier.

Once your petition signatures are verified, your election official will notify you
within 1 business day whether you meet the signature requirement. If the signature
verification process is still underway, you can check on your petition’s status on the
Lieutenant Governor’s website, vote.utah.gov.
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The number of signatures you need to gather depends on the office you are
seeking. U.S. House, legislative, and state board of education candidates must
gather signatures from at least 300 or 5% of registered voters within the district,
whichever is less. If you are seeking statewide office, you will need to gather from at
least 1,000 registered voters residing within the state.

A good rule of thumb is to collect more signatures than what is required because
not every signature you collect will be valid.

All signers must meet the following requirements in order for their signature to be
considered valid:

+  Registered to vote in Utah (or will be registered before the signature is
verified by the election officer).

« Live in the district or area of the office you are seeking.

«  Did not sign a petition for another unaffiliated candidate running for the
same office.

You can access the petition template form on the vote.utah.gov website

or by clicking here. Refer to the next page to determine how to compile your
petition packets.
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http://vote.utah.gov
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S502.html?v=C20A-9-S502_2018022120180221
http://vote.utah.gov
https://voteinfo.utah.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/42/2019/05/Unaffiliated-Candidate-Petition.pdf

Unaffiliated Candidates

Step 2: Gather signatures

UCA 20A-9-502

Please follow the steps listed below to begin gathering signature.

Printing, binding,
& arranging petition
packets

Who can circulate
petitions?

Responsibilities of
petition circulators

You are responsible for printing and binding your petition. It must be bound

across the top (long edge of paper) in at least 3 places using either staples
or spiral binding. The packet must be bound before it is circulated, and it cannot be
taken apart or rearranged once it is bound. Your packet will be rejected if you do so.

The petition must include 2 sheets and be arranged in the order below:

0 Signature Sheet(s)

This is where voters will sign your peti-
tion. Voters provide their name, signa-
ture, and address. They have the option
of providing their age or birth date.

o Verification Sheet
The person circulating the petition packet

must complete this sheet. The circulator
must count the number of signatures in the
packet and sign. A packet must be circulated
by only one person.

Each petition packet needs 1 verification
sheet.

Any resident of Utah who is over 18 years of age may circulate a petition. They do
not need to be registered to vote; however, the county clerk can better verify the
circulator’s age if they are registered to vote. If a circulator does not meet these
requirements, the signatures they gathered are not valid.

Circulators must complete and sign the verification sheet of every petition packet
they use to gather signatures. Circulators cannot sign the signature sheets of any
petitions they circulate-they must sign a petition packet of another circulator if
they wish to sign the petition.

Each petition packet must be used by only 1 circulator. If you have multiple
circulators, they will each need 1 packet.

Petition circulators should receive permission from the appropriate entity or owner
if they want to gather signatures in private and public areas.
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Volunteer signature
gatherers

Registering petition
signers to vote

Unaffiliated Candidates

You can also use volunteers to gather signatures. Volunteers and their time do not
qualify as campaign contributions. However, if volunteers are paid by a third party
(e.g., a political action committee or corporation), this would be considered an
in-kind contribution from the third party.

Refer to page 27 for more information on in-kind contributions.

If an individual wishes to sign your petition but is not registered to vote, you may
provide them with a registration form. Please ensure that the completed registration
form is submitted to the appropriate county clerk before you submit the individual’s
petition signature.

County clerks cannot guarantee that a registration form will be processed
prior to the petition signature.

Step 3: Submit signatures for verification

UCA 20A-9-502

Once you gather the required number of signatures, you must get the signatures verified by the county clerk.

This step must be done before you declare candidacy (step 4).

Where do | submit
petition signatures for
verification?

When do | submit
signatures for
verification?

Can | supplement my
petition signatures?

How do | know if and
when my signatures are
verified?

Signatures must be verified by a county clerk-even if you are a federal, statewide
executive office, or multi-county candidate. If you obtain signatures within
multiple counties, you must submit a voter’s signature to the voter’s county clerk. It
is advised that you circulate each petition or petition packet within one county so
you can easily determine which signatures go to a particular county clerk.

The petition signatures must be verified before you declare candidacy
between February 28, 2022 and 5:00 p.m. on March 4, 2022 Depending on the

time of year and the number of signatures you collected, signature verification could take

several days or weeks.

It is highly advised that you coordinate with the county clerks to ensure that clerks
have enough time to verify the signatures before the end of the declaration period.
Refer to page 42 for county clerk contact information.

Yes. If you continue to gather signatures after submitting a packet to a county clerk
for verification, you may submit additional signatures. The procedure for doing this
is exactly the same as described in steps 1-2. Again, please coordinate with the
respective county clerk to ensure there is enough time to verify supplemental
signatures before the end of the declaration period.

The county clerk will give the petition back to the candidate after verification.
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https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S502.html?v=C20A-9-S502_2018022120180221
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Unaffiliated Candidates

Step 4: Submit the verified signatures & declare candidacy

UCA 20A-9-201, UCA 20A-9-206

After your petition signatures are verified, you must submit the verified signatures and declare candidacy with the

appropriate filing officer.

When do | submit You must submit verified signatures with your filing officer and declare
verified signatures & candidacy between February 28, 2022 and 5:00 p.m. on March 4, 2022*. Late submission
declare candidacy? cannot be accepted.

Federal candidates and statewide constitutional offices submit signatures and file
in-person with the Lieutenant Governor’s Office. All other candidates can submit

signatures and file in-person with the county clerk of their county of residence.
Where do | submit

verified signatures &

decl didacy? You must submit the following items and forms listed below to declare candidacy.
eclare candidacy?

Your forms, with the exception of the petition, will be posted on vote.utah.gov.

How do | declare
candidacy?

Declaration of Candidacy Form. This form requires your name, contact

information, party, and whether you will go through convention, gather
signatures, or both. You may also provide your campaign’s email address, website,
and Twitter handle.

Conflict of Interest Form. (File prior to declaring). This form is required for
Utah legislative and statewide executive office candidates (not candidates for U.S. Senate
and House of Representatives). The process for filing this form is different in 2020 from

previous years and requires each candidate to file online at disclosures.utah.gov. Here are

the steps that a candidate must take to submit this form:

1. Create a username and register your campaign (follow instructions on page 33)

2. After creating your account and registering the page, return to the
disclosures.utah.gov home page.

3. Click on“My Folder”on the left hand
side of the screen.

4. Click“Submit or Update Conflict of

Interest Forms”

(Instructions continued on next page)
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How do | declare
candidacy? (cont.)

What fees do | need to
pay?

What if | can't declare
candidacy in person?

Unaffiliated Candidates

5. Click“Begin a new Conflict of
Interest Form.”

6. Fill out the required fields and submit
the form. This form must be completed prior to declaring candidacy.

Pledge of Fair Campaign Practices (optional). This is a pledge to conduct
your campaign according to the statements outlined in the pledge.

Address Protection Form (optional). This form allows a candidate to have

their residential or mailing address classified as a protected record. If you
choose to file this form, you must provide the filing office another address or phone
number where you may be contacted.

(0)jjle] Filing Fee
You must pay a filing fee when you

declare candidacy. The table to the

U.S. Senate $1,355
right lists the filing fee for each office.

U.S. House of Representatives $485
If you are unable to pay due to financial
hardship, you may file an affidavit of State Treasurer $792.50
impecuniosity. The filing officer may
ask you to provide evidence of your

State Senator $114.12

inability to pay and then determine

whether the fee will be waived.
State House of Representatives $82.06

If you are located outside of Utah
. . . State Board of Education $99.88
during the entire declaration of

candidacy period, you can designate
another individual to file your
declaration paperwork on your behalf.
Your signature must be notarized on
the declaration of candidacy-your
designated agent cannot sign for you.

To file on your behalf, the designated agent must file your petition and paperwork
in-person with your filing officer during the declaration period. The designated

agent must also use an electronic device that allows you and the filing officer to hear and
see each other (Facetime).
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Write-in Candidates

Write-in Candidates

UCA 20A-9-601

As a write-in candidate, your name does not appear on the ballot. Voters must write or type your name on the

write-in line for a vote to count. The process to become a write-in candidate is simple: you must declare candidacy

with the appropriate election official.

You cannot be elected to any office as a write-in candidate unless you officially declare candidacy.

When do | declare
candidacy?

Where do | declare
candidacy?

How do | declare
candidacy?

The deadline to declare write-in candidacy is 5:00 p.m. on September 5, 2022*.
Late submissions cannot be accepted.

Federal and statewide executive office candidates file in-person with the
Lieutenant Governor’s Office. All other candidates, regardless of whether they are
multi- or single-county candidates, file in-person with the county clerk of their
county of residence.

You must submit the forms listed below to declare candidacy. Your filing officer will
provide these forms when you declare. After you declare candidacy, your
declaration forms will be posted on vote.utah.gov.

Conflict of Interest Form. (File prior to declaring). This form is required for
Utah legislative and statewide executive office candidates (not candidates for U.S. Senate
and House of Representatives). The process for filing this form is different in 2020 from
previous years and requires each candidate to file online at disclosures.utah.gov. Here are

the steps that a candidate must take to submit this form:
1. Create a username and register your campaign (follow instructions on page 33)
2. After creating your account and registering the page, return to the

disclosures.utah.gov home page.

3. Click on“My Folder”on the left hand
side of the screen.

(Instructions continued on next page)
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Do | need to pay any
fees?

Do I need to file
campaign finance
reports?

Write-in Candidates

4. Click“Submit or Update Conflict of
Interest Forms”

5. Click“Begin a new Conflict of
Interest Form.”

6. Fill out the required fields and submit
the form. This form must be completed prior to declaring candidacy.

Pledge of Fair Campaign Practices (optional). This is a pledge to conduct
your campaign according to the statements outlined in the pledge.

Address Protection Form (optional). This form allows a candidate to have

their residential or mailing address classified as a protected record. If you
choose to file this form, you must provide the filing office another address or phone
number where you may be contacted.

Write-in candidates are subject to the same filing fees as affiliated and unaffiliated
candidates.

If you are unable to pay due to financial hardship, you may file an affidavit of
impecuniosity. The filing officer may ask you to provide evidence of your inability to

pay and then determine whether the fee will be waived.

If you are a federal write-in candidate, check with the Federal Election Commission

(FEC) to determine whether you need to file financial disclosure reports.
If you are a statewide executive office, state legislative or state board of ~ education

candidate, you must file financial disclosure reports with the Lieutenant Governor’s Office.
Refer to page 25 for more information.
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Campaign Finance & Reporting

Campaign Finance & Reporting

Reporting your campaign finances is required by law. Federal candidates file with the Federal Election
Commission (FEC). If you are a federal candidate, refer to the FEC's website, www.fec.gov, for more
information on federal campaign finance regulations.

If you are a statewide executive candidate, a legislative candidate, or a state board of education candidate
(including unaffiliated and write-in candidates), you will follow state campaign finance law and file with the
Lieutenant Governor’s Office at www.disclosures.utah.gov.

Failure to adhere to campaign finance requirements may lead to financial penalties and
disqualification from the election.

Continue reading the sections below to find out how to follow these requirements.

+  Opening a campaign bank account (page 28).

«  Contributions (pages 28-29).

«  Expenditures (page 30).

+  Reporting schedule & deadlines (pages 31-32).

«  How to report campaign finances (pages 33-35).

- When to start & stop reporting finances (page 36).
«  Penalties & fines (page 37).

Who do | report my campaign finances to?

Federal Election Commission Utah Lieutenant Governor’s Office
U.S. Senate State Treasurer
U.S. House of Representatives State Senate

State House of Representatives
State Board of Education
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Campaign Finance & Reporting (Campaign Bank Accounts & Contributions)

Opening a campaign bank account

UCA 20A-11-101, UCA 20A-11-201, UCA 20A-11-301, UCA 20A-11-1301

If you are a statewide executive office candidate, a legislative candidate, or a state board of education candidate, opening a
bank account for your campaign is one of the first things you must do. Utah law does not allow a statewide executive office,
legislative or a state board of education candidate to use their personal OR business banking accounts for a campaign-a
separate bank account that is only used for campaign purposes must be created and used for campaign finances. However,
you are allowed to contribute money from your personal account to a campaign account. These contributions would need
to be reported following the guidelines on page 31. This would be considered a contribution from yourself to your
campaign.

Some banks require an Employer Identification Number (EIN) to open an account. The Lieutenant Governor’s
Office or your county clerk cannot provide this number. Refer to the IRS's website, www.irs.gov, for more
information.

Contributions

UCA 20A-11-101, UCA 20A-11-201, UCA 20A-11-301, UCA 20A-11-1301, UCA 20A-11-601

What is a contribution? A contribution is generally anything of value that your campaign receives. The state
does not place limits on contributions.

Utah Code 20A-11-101(6) provides the legal definition of a contribution. Here are
the 4 most common types:

+  Money donations;
«  Gifts;
«  Loans (including ones from yourself); or

- In-kind services or donations

Every contribution your campaign receives must be reported, including
contributions from your personal accounts. When reporting contributions, you must
include the contribution’s value, date, and the contributor’s name and address.

Unpaid volunteers and goods or services that your campaign did not
authorize or coordinate do not need to be reported.

Who can contribute to Individuals, corporations, political action committees (PAC), and political parties
my campaign? may contribute to your campaign.

If you receive a contribution from a PAC or political party, they may have additional
requirements to file financial disclosure reports separate from yours. It is
recommended that you notify these entities of this possible requirement to ensure
they comply with the law and avoid fines.

Federal law prohibits any foreign nationals from making any contributions or
expenditures in connection with any election.
(Refer to the FEC's “Foreign Nationals” brochure for more information).

27


https://www.fec.gov/
http://www.disclosures.utah.gov
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S101.html?v=C20A-11-S101_2019051420190514
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S201.html?v=C20A-11-S201_2019051420190514
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S301.html?v=C20A-11-S301_2019051420190514
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S1301.html?v=C20A-11-S1301_2019051420190514
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S601.html?v=C20A-11-S601_2019051420190514
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S101.html?v=C20A-11-S101_2019051420190514
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S201.html?v=C20A-11-S201_2019051420190514
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S301.html?v=C20A-11-S301_2019051420190514
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S1301.html?v=C20A-11-S1301_2019051420190514
https://www.irs.gov/businesses/small-businesses-self-employed/employer-id-numbers
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S101.html?v=C20A-11-S101_2019051420190514
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What is an in-kind
contribution?

Can laggregate

(or combine) my
contributions when
reporting?

Anonymous
contributions

Contributions from
pass-through entities

When is a contribution
considered received?

Campaign Finance & Reporting (Contributions)

If your campaign receives anything of value that is not money, this is considered an
in-kind contribution. Just like monetary donations, you must report all in-kind
contributions to your campaign.

If your campaign receives an in-kind contribution, you are responsible for
determining its value to report it. You can typically ask the contributor to provide
an estimate of the market value of the service or product. For example, if a farmers’
market typically charges $100.00 for booth space but waived the fee for your
campaign, you received a $100.00 in-kind donation from the farmers’ market for
booth space.

It is recommended that in-kind contributions are reported at the time that the
candidate benefits. If the value of the contribution is not known, it is advised that
you report an approximate value and then amend it later if and when you
become aware of a more precise value.

Although the in-kind amount is displayed on your online financial ledger and on your
disclosure reports, it will not affect the balance of your financial ledger. For example, if you
have a $0.00 balance and add a $100.00 in-kind contribution to your financial ledger, your
balance will remain $0.00. For more information about your financial ledger, refer to page
32.

No, each contribution received must be reported as a separate contribution. It is
unlawful to aggregate—or combine—contributions, no matter how small they may
be. Whether the contribution was $1.00 or $10,000.00, you must include the
contributor’s name and address as well as the contribution’s value and date.

You cannot use a campaign contribution if it is from an anonymous source and
greater than $50.00. If you receive an anonymous contribution greater than $50.00,
you must transfer the money to the state, county, city or a 501(c)(3) non-profit

organization.

Many candidates use pass-through entities to collect donations (such as PayPal, Act
Blue, Square, or GoFundMe). When you report your contributions that come through
an entity like this, report the original source of the contribution instead of the pass-
through entity.

Pass-through entity example: Jane Doe contributes $100 to your campaign
using PayPal. Because you received the money from Jane Doe and not
PayPal, you would report the contribution as received from Jane Doe.

A contribution is considered received when you:
+  Deposit a check;
+  Have the cash in hand; or

. Benefit from an in-kind contribution.
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Expenditures

Campaign Finance & Reporting (Expenditures)

UCA 20A-11-101, 20A-11-101.3, UCA 20A-11-104, UCA 20A-11-201, UCA 20A-11-301, 20A-11-601, UCA 20A-11-1301

What is an
expenditure?

Prohibited expenditures

What should I do if I'm
not sure whether an
expenditure is legal or
not?

Making expenditures
using credit cards

An expenditure is anything of value that your campaign spends.

Utah Code 20A-11-101(15) provides the legal definition of expenditure, but here are
some common types:

+  Purchases or payments related to the campaign;

«  Compensation for staff or services;

»  Campaign loan repayments.

Every expenditure that your campaign makes must be reported. When you report expen-
ditures, you must include the amount, the date, and where the expenditure falls within a
list of specified categories:

Utah law prohibits using your campaign funds for you or your family’s personal use.

Below is a non-exhaustive list of prohibited expenditures:
Rent, mortgage, or utilities for your +  Admission to events
personal property (campaign office space
is exempt)
Household food items or supplies
Clothing (except clothing that bears
your campaign’s logo and is used for the
campaign)

Dues or fees to clubs or gyms

Salary or payment to anyone who does
not work for your campaign

Vehicle payment
Personal debt

. Travel expenses unrelated to the
Personal services (e.g., attorney &

hysician fees) campaign
physician <.ees . Meal expenses unrelated to the
Membership fee to a professional campaign

organization . .
Vacation or vacation related expenses

We recommend that you contact a disclosures specialist in the Office of the
Lieutenant Governor. Call (801) 538-1041 or email disclosures@utah.gov for

guidance on your specific circumstances.
You can use credit cards to pay for campaign expenses. However, do not report
your monthly credit card payment as an expenditure. Instead, report each

transaction on your credit card’s billing statement.

For example, if you charged $200.00 on your credit card, report the individual
transactions (such as $100.00 paid to Printing, Inc. for printing and $100.00 paid to
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Campaign Finance & Reporting (Reporting Schedule & Deadlines)

Reporting Schedule & Deadlines

UCA 20A-11-201, UCA 20A-11-203, UCA 20A-11-204, UCA 20A-11-302, UCA 20A-11-303, UCA 20A-11-1302, UCA 20A-11-1303

Utah campaign finance law requires candidates and current officeholders to report contributions on a

rolling basis AND on specific dates throughout the year.

31 day contribution
reporting requirement

7 day contribution
reporting
requirement

Report Name Report Deadline

You must report each contribution within 31 calendar days of receiving it.
See page 27 for an explanation of when a contribution is considered
received.

If you have an opponent for the convention, primary election, or general election, you
must report all campaign contributions within 7 business days beginning the 30 days be-
fore the convention or election. Refer to the table below to determine when this require-

ment begins:

Contest 7-Business Day Reporting Requirement Begins:

Convention Contact your party (page 5) to determine your convention dates, and

then calculate 30 calendar days prior to that date

Primary Election Sunday, May 29, 2022

General Election Sunday, October 9, 2022

The 31 day rule and 7 day rule only applies to campaign contributions.
However, the report chart below applies to contributions and expenditures.

In addition to regular contribution reporting, state executive, legislative and state
board of education candidates are required to submit 5 reports on disclosures.utah.gov

throughout the 2022 election cycle. Refer to the table below for these reporting dead-

lines:
Report Includes Transactions Between Candidates who file

All partisan candidates

Reporting requirements
(cont.)

Campaign Finance & Reporting (Reporting Schedule & Deadlines)

You must include all campaign contributions and expenditures made during the report-
ing period (3rd column from left in the table on page 29).

Refer to pages 26-29 to learn how to file these reports

Reporting deadlines are the same for all candidates except for the

Convention, March 28%, and May 15% reports. The Convention report is due 7
days before your party’s convention (if you are a partisan candidate) - even if you do not
participate in the convention process. If the reporting deadline falls on a weekend or
holiday, the report will be due the following business day.

Refer to page 5 to contact your party and determine the exact date of your
convention.

The March 30% report applies to unaffiliated legislative candidates only and the
May 15% report applies to State Board of Education candidates.

Campaign Contribution/Expenditure Reporting Chart

Convention 7 days before convention (April 18,2022 | When financial activity begins - 5 days before convention report is due
(Not state board of education
at11:59 pm) candidates)
March 28th March 28,2022 (11:59 p.m.) When candidacy begins - March 23, 2022 *Unaffiliated candidates
May 16th May 16, 2022 (11:59 p.m.) When candidacy begins - May 10, 2022 State board of education

candidates only

Primary Election

June 21,2022 (11:59 p.m.)

4 days before the previous report - June 16, 2022 All candidates

September 30th

September 30, 2022 (11:59 p.m.)

June 17,2022 - September 25, 2022 All candidates

General Election

November 1,2022 (11:59 p.m.)

September 26, 2022 - October 27, 2022 All candidates

Year-End January 10,2023 (11:59 p.m.)

October 28, 2022 - December 31, 2022 All candidates

Questions about campaign finance? Email disclosures@utah.gov

Did you receive
campaign
contributions?

Campaign

contributions

Report within 31 days
of receiving
contribution

\J

A

Do you have an
opponent in your No
upcoming convention
Yes _ or election?
Yes
\/
Is it within 30 “7 Day”Rule Applies
calendar days of the Yes Submit report within
Convention, Primary, 3 business days of
or General Election? receiving
contribution
Report
Partisan Candidate 7 Days before Report
> (not state board of > convention
education candidates) v

June 21,2022
September 30, 2022

State Board of

AND expenditures

are reported

"| Education Candidate > May 16

November 1, 2022
January 10, 2023

Unaffiliated _ ?
Legislative Candidate > March 28

Questions about campaign finance? Email disclosures@utah.gov
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Campaign Finance & Reporting (How to Report)

How to report your campaign finances

All statewide constitutional offices, legislative, and state board of education candidates must file financial

disclosure reports on the Lieutenant Governor’s Office website, www.disclosures.utah.gov. Candidates should

follow the steps below to report contributions, expenditures, and file reports.

Create a
username &
register your
campaign

Navigate your
online financial
ledger

Using a web browser, go to www.disclosures.utah.gov

On the top left-hand section of the screen, select “New User”

Skip this and the next item if you already have a username.

The “Create a New Web Account” screen should appear.

Here you will create a username which allows you to access

the disclosures website. This is not the same as registering

your campaign-that will be done in the next step.

Fill out your personal information and create your username and password. Click “Register.”

***Your username information will not be public***

Once the user account has been created and you are logged in, click the “Create Entity” tab on the left
hand side of the screen and select “Candidates & Officeholders”. After the required information has been
filled in and saved, the registration will need to be approved by the office, which could take anywhere
from 1- business days. Once the registration is approved, you will be able to access your financial ledger

through the “My Folder” tab.

All contributions and expenditures are entered into your
online financial ledger. This is also where reports are filed.

To access your ledger, log on www.disclosures.utah.gov and

click“My Folder” on the left of your screen.

On the “My Folder” screen, there are three red links in the
middle of the screen under the bolded word “Actions.”

Click on“Financial Ledger.”

You will want to familiarize yourself with the “Financial Ledger” tool. See the next page for

instructions on using the various functions.

Questions about campaign finance? Email disclosures@utah.gov
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Campaign Finance & Reporting (How to Report - Financial Ledger)

Completing the Financial Ledger

P

@ Name of Reports
These are the names of the required reports for a regular general election year.
When you enter a contribution or expenditure, the ledger automatically sorts them
under the appropriate report based on the reporting period. You can view reporting
period dates by hovering your cursor over a report name. To view all contributions and
expenditures under a particular report, simply click “Show Details” next to the report’s
name.

© Purpose/Address
This column displays the expenditure purpose or the address of a contribution.
This information is only displayed if you click “Show Details” for a report.

9 Contributions/Expenditures/Balance
These columns display the total amount of contributions and expenditures, as well as
the total account balance for each report. If you click “Show Details,” each column will
display amounts for individual contributions and expenditures. Use the “Add” button in
the top row to enter a new contribution or expenditure.

Special Reporting Categories
These columns represent four items:

« I=in-kind contribution

« L=loan

« A =reportamendment

« P =publicservice assistance (for current office holders only)

If a transaction falls into one or more of these categories, the ledger will make a note of
it in these columns. Remember that in-kind contributions will not affect the balance of
your ledger.

e File Report
These are the buttons to file your reports. Simply click “File Report” once you have
entered all contributions and expenditures for the applicable reporting period.

@ Year Tabs

These tabs display the years your account has been active since you last declared
candidacy. If you are a new candidate, you will only have one tab for the current year. For
older accounts, simply click on a year to view the ledger for that year.

° Download Import Sheet

If you prefer, you can complete an import sheet in Microsoft Excel and email the file to
disclosures@utah.gov.

Questions about campaign finance? Email disclosures@utah.gov
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Unaffiliated Candidates
The “convention” report will
be displayed as the

May 15th report.

In-kind Contributions
These contributions do not
affect your total balance, but
they still must be reported.

Loan

Means any funds received by
the filing entity if the person
expects repayment or
reimbursement. Loans can
be from a personal account.

Public Service Assistance
Can be a gift, subscription,
donation, unpaid or partially
unpaid loan, advance, or
deposit of money or
anything of value to an
officeholder. Can also
include goods or services
provided at less than fair
market value for the benefit
of the officeholder.

Changes/Edits

You may make changes to
your report once you submit
it, but any changes will be
publicly displayed as
amendments.

Emailing Disclosures

All emailed disclosure docu-
ments must be received be-
fore the reporting deadline.
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Campaign Finance & Reporting (How to Report) Campaign Finance & Reporting (When to start & stop reporting)

How to report your campaign finances (cont.) When to start & stop reporting finances
Add a To add a contribution or expenditure, simply click “Add” in UCA 20A-11-104, UCA 20A-11-304
contribution or the appropriate ledger column. When do | start reporting Once you declare candidacy, receive a contribution, or spend money on
expenditure my campaign finances? campaigning, you must begin reporting finances (even if you have not

officially declared candidacy or your intent to gather signatures).

Contribution

Clicking the “Add” button will display a pop-up. Here When do | stop reporting If you lose an election, resign from office, or no longer receive or spend campaign
you will enter the amount and date of the contribution my campaign finances? money, you have the option of closing your bank account and financial disclosure
(refer to page 29 to determine when a contribution is account. By closing your accounts, you will no longer need to report your campaign
received) as well as the contributor’s name and address. finances.

You can also designate the contribution as in-kind, loan, or public service assistance (for current If you plan to run for office in the future, you can keep your campaign money and

office holders only). accounts, but you will be required to continue reporting your finances. If you close

your accounts now but run again in the future, you must open a new bank account

Expenditure and disclosures.utah.gov account.

“Clicking the “Add” button will display a pop-up.

Here you will enter the date of the expenditure, the amount of How do | close my You must return or donate your remaining campaign funds to close your accounts.
the expenditure, and select the category from the dropdown accounts? You may:

menu under which the expenditure falls. «  Pay back any loans your campaign received (including loans you made to your

Please refer to 20A-11-101.3 for the list of categories. If the expenditure does not fall within one of the own campaign);

specific categories, choose the “other” category and include a description of the expenditure. Including Return funds to contributors:

the name of the ultimate payee is optional by encouraged. Also, there is a check box to use if the expen-
Edit or delete a diture is related to a loan” - Donate the funds to a candidate, political party, or

contribution or e political action committee (PAC); or

expenditure «  Donate the funds to a 501(c)(3) organization.

Td i | ifi i lick h e .
o edit or delete a specific transaction, click on the row you Note: Refer to your bank for specific instructions to close your bank account.

would like to change. The row will highlight and the “Edit”
and “Delete” buttons will appear. Make changes as desired. How do | close my To close your online financial disclosures account, follow these instructions:

Note: If the report is already filed and you are making disclosures.utah.gov
1. Log in to www.disclosures.utah.gov. Ensure that your

changes, “Amend” and “Delete” buttons will appear instead. account? i ] )
financial ledger is updated, your account balance is $0.00,

and you have filed the next upcoming report.
To edit a transaction, click the “Edit” button. After editing

a transaction, it will be noted as an amendment. 2. Return to the home page after updating your ledger.

Click “My Folder” on the toolbar located on the left side of
To delete a transaction, click the “Delete” button. The

the screen.
transaction’s details will be deleted and it will no longer —_ — — e e e e e e e e e e —
affect your balance, but the transaction’s name will be 3. You will notice three red links in the middle of the screen
changed to “[DELETED]". under “Actions.” Click “Manage Folder.”

File your
disclosure - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - — - - — - - = ==

report Before submitting your report, we recommend that you 4.In this new screen, click“Close Account.” A pop-up will

review all of your contributions and expenditures to ensure appear and ask for confirmation. Read this carefully and then

they have accurately been entered into the ledger. click“Submit:

When you are ready to submit a report, click the “File Report” Note: If the ledger balance is not $0.00 or other reports need to
be filed, you will be instructed to complete these tasks prior to

closing the account.

button on the ledger. You will be asked to confirm the filing.

You will receive an on-screen and email confirmation each time you file a report.
Questions about campaign finance? Email disclosures@utah.gov Questions about campaign finance? Email disclosures@utah.gov
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Campaign Finance & Reporting (Penalties & Fines)

Campaign Finance Penalties & Fines

If you fail to adhere to campaign finance and disclosure laws, you may face fines, criminal penalties, and

disqualification from the election.

What if | file a report
late?

Reporting late
contributions

How do | pay a fine?

When do | need to pay
afine?

What if | don't file or
there are errors?

This table outlines the penalties for filing a late report:

Other Useful Information

Other Useful Information

«  Campaign regulations (pages 36-38).
« Important election dates (page 39).

«  County Clerk contact information (page 40).

+  Single vs. Multi-county legislative and state board of education districts (coming soon)

Campaign Regulations

Report Name Report Deadline Fine/Penalty Candidates who file

Convention 7 days before convention (April 18, 2022) $100 fine All partisan candidates

March 26th March 28, 2022 (11:59 p.m.) $100 fine *Nonpartisan legislative
candidates only

May 16th May 16,2022 (11:59 p.m.) $100 fine & potential disqualification* State board of education
candidates only

Primary Election June 21,2022 (11:59 p.m.) $100 fine & potential disqualification* All candidates

September 30th September 30, 2022 (11:59 p.m.) $100 fine & potential disqualification* All candidates

General Election November 1, 2022 (11:59 p.m.) $100 fine & potential disqualification* All candidates

Year-End January 10,2023 (11:59 p.m.) $100 fine All candidates

*If you fail to file the Primary, September 30th, or General Election report, you will
be fined and given a 24-hour grace period to file the report. If you do not file the
report within this grace period, you will be disqualified from the election.

Separate from the deadlines and penalties listed in the table above, there
are penalties for failing to report contributions within the 31 calendar days or 7 business
day requirement (refer to pages 29-31) for more information on these requirements:

«  10% of each late contribution if it is reported within 60 days after the deadline

+  20% of each late contribution if it is reported more than 60 days after the
deadline

Statewide executive, legislative, and state board of education candidates must pay
fines through the Lieutenant Governor’s Office. You may pay with a check (made
payable to the State of Utah), or you can call the Lieutenant Governor’s Office at
801-538-1041 to conduct a credit card transaction over the phone.

Statewide executive, legislative, and state board of education candidates are
required to pay within 30 calendar days of receiving the fine. Failure to pay within

this time frame may result in a class B misdemeanor.

If you fail to file, or the filed report contains errors, the lieutenant governor will
notify the candidate of the issue within 5 business days of discovering the issue.
If a corrected report is not submitted within 7 business days after receiving this
notice, the candidate could be guilty of a class B misdemeanor, and violations may
be reported to the Utah Attorney General.

Questions about campaign finance? Email disclosures@utah.gov
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Utah law prohibits certain activities related to campaigning. Familiarize yourself with these laws to avoid possible

legal issues, fines, and penalties. The laws listed below are some of the most common issues that arise during the

campaign season, but this list is not all-inclusive. Refer to Title 20A of the Utah State Code for more information.

To determine whether there are additional regulations for federal candidates, you should consult the appropriate

federal agency.

Advertisements

Bribery

Campaigning near a
polling location

If your campaign pays for any type of advertisement (e.g., mailers, TV, radio,
newspaper, billboard, etc.), the advertisement must clearly state that your campaign
authorized and paid for the advertisement.

If your campaign does not pay for an advertisement, but it is approved by your
campaign, the advertisement must clearly state who paid for the advertisement and
that your campaign authorized it.

However, this requirement does not apply to certain campaign items such as:
«  Lawn signs smaller than 4ft. by 8ft. in size;

+  Bumper stickers;

«  Campaign buttons, stickers, and pens; and

+ Items that are too small to conveniently print the disclaimer.

Any type of bribery is strictly prohibited by law. You cannot:

«  Offer or promise an individual money, prizes, benefits, or employment to vote,
refrain from voting, remain away from the polls, or receive political support.

- Offer or promise anything to other candidates to drop out of the race, stay in the
race, or perform any other action.

«  Payfor endorsements.

A person convicted of these offenses is guilty of a third degree felony.

When voting is taking place at a polling location, you are not allowed to campaign
or electioneer on public property within 150 feet of the building. This includes
wearing campaign or campaign-related shirts and buttons or displaying signs or
bumper stickers. You also cannot interfere with voters or the administration of the
polling place.
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Campaign signs

Campaign signs on
public roadways

Names on the ballot

Poll watchers

Using public email for
political purposes

Other Useful Information

State election law does not prohibit you from placing campaign signs on public
property with the exception of state rights-of-way (see next page), but a
government or other public entity may prohibit it. Ask the appropriate public entity
whether you may place signs on public property. If a public entity allows campaign
signs on public property, all candidates must be allowed to place signs. You are not
allowed to move, remove, tamper, or vandalize any campaign signs unless the sign

is your own. It is a class B misdemeanor to do so.

If you have permission from the property owner, you are allowed to place campaign
signs on private property. Property owners can remove your signs without your
consent and are not obligated to return the signs to you.

State and federal law prohibit campaign signs within state rights-of-way (Utah Code
Section 72-7-102). This includes all state highways, medians, road shoulders, sound
walls, on-ramps, off-ramps, overpasses, and adjoining fence lines. Candidates are
encouraged to place signs on private property with the consent of the property
owner. The only restriction for signs on private property is that they must not block
the view of oncoming traffic.

If a campaign sign is placed within the state rights-of-way or poses a traffic hazard,
it may be removed. Signs that have been removed will be stored by UDOT, and the
sign owner may retrieve the signs for future use.

A local government may allow campaign signs in its own rights-of-way. Please
contact your local government for more information; regulations and restrictions

vary among cities and counties.

For more information about state sign regulations please email
OutdoorAdvertisingControl@udot.gov, or call (801) 965-4209.

The order of candidates’ names on the ballot is established by a random alphabet—
the master ballot position list. The ballot position list will be determined after the
declaration of candidacy period. The list will be posted on vote.utah.gov.

Poll watchers are not required, but you may designate poll watchers. Poll watchers
should register with the county clerk beforehand.

Watchers are there to observe the voting and tabulation process. They are not there
to interfere. Watchers may make written memos, but they cannot communicate the
progress of the voting or counting in any way. Doing so will result in a third degree
felony.

Counties may make other rules regarding poll watching. Watchers may be required
to surrender their cell phone or remain in a certain area of the room.

If you are a current office holder or work in the public sector (including public
education), you cannot use your public entity email address for political or
campaign-related purposes. The fine for the first offense is $250. Fines for
subsequent offenses are $1,000 and over.
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Withdrawing your
candidacy or intent to
gather signatures

Submitting ballots

Other Useful Information

You may withdraw your candidacy or your declaration of intent to gather signatures
by submitting a written affidavit to your filing officer. If you withdraw your intent

to gather signatures, any signatures you submitted prior to withdrawal will not be
verified.

Candidates or their campaigns cannot collect or submit mail ballots on behalf of
voters. They can, however, give voters rides to polling locations.
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Important Election Dates

Important Election Dates

Below is a calendar of important dates for the election. Note that not all election related dates and

deadlines are represented in this calendar.

County Clerk Contact Information

County Clerk Contact Information

January 3 2022

Declaration of intent to gather signatures begins

February 28,2022

Declaration of candidacy period begins of candidacy period begins

March 4, 2022

Declaration of candidacy period ends; declaration of intent to gather signatures period ends

Beaver

Clerk/Auditor: Ginger McMullin
gingermcmullin@beaver.utah.gov
105 E. Center St.

P.O. Box 392

Beaver, UT 84713

Phone: 435-438-6463

Fax: 435-213-1752

Garfield

Clerk: Camille Moore
gcclerk@mountainwest.net
55 S Main

Panguitch, UT 84759
Phone: 435-676-1120

Fax: 435-676-8239

Rich

Clerk: Becky Peart
bpeart@richcountyut.org

20 South Main, P.O. Box 218
Randolph, UT 84064

Phone: 435-793-2415

Fax: 435-793-2410

Utah

Clerk/Auditor: Josh Daniels
joshd@utahcounty.gov
100 E. Center, Room 3100
Provo, UT 84606

Phone: 801-851-8128

Fax: 801-370-8122

2 weeks before convention

Candidate petition signatures must be submitted

7 days before convention

Financial disclosure report due (except for unaffiliated candidates)

Late March - Late April

Political parties hold nominating conventions

March 28, 2022

Financial disclosure report due for unaffiliated legislative candidates

Box Elder

Clerk: Marla Young
myoung@boxeldercounty.org
01 S. Main St.

Brigham City, UT 84302
Phone: 435-734-3393

Fax: 435-723-7562

Grand

Clerk: Quinn Hall
ghall@grandcountyutah.net
125 E. Center

Moab, UT 84532

Phone: 435-259-1321

Fax: 435-259-2959

Salt Lake

Clerk: Sherrie Swensen
sswensen@slco.org
2001 South State Street
#S1100

Salt Lake City, UT 84190
Phone: 385-468-7400
Fax: 385-468-7401

Wasatch

Clerk/Auditor: Joey Granger
clerkauditor@wasatch.utah.gov
25 North Main

Heber City, UT 84032

Phone: 435-657-3190

Fax: 435-654-0834

May 16, 2022 Candidate biographies/profiles must be submitted to vote.utah.gov.

May 13, 2022 Primary Election ballots are sent to military and out-of-country voters

May 15, 2022 Financial disclosure report due for state board of education candidates

June 1,2022 Last day a voter can register to vote for the Primary Election by mailing a registration form
June 7,2022

Primary Election mail ballots are sent to voters

Cache

Clerk: Jess Bradfield
jess.bradfield@cachecounty.org
179 North Main Street

Suite 102

Logan, UT 84321

Phone: 435-755-1460

Fax: 435-755-1980

Iron

Clerk: Jon Whittaker
jwhittaker@ironcounty.net
68 S. 100 E.

P.O. Box 429

Parowan, UT 84761
Phone: 435-477-8340
Fax: 435-477-8847

San Juan

Clerk: Lyman Duncan
Iduncan@sanjuancounty.org
P.O. Box 338

Monticello, UT 84535
Phone: 435-587-3223

Fax: 435-587-2425

Washington

Clerk/Auditor: Susan Lewis
susan.lewis@washco.utah.gov
197 East Tabernacle St.

St. George, UT 84770
Phone:435-634-5712

Fax: 435-634-5763

June 14,2022

Primary Election in-person early voting begins

June 17,2022

Last day to register to vote for the primary election

June 21, 2022

Financial disclosure report due & last day a voter can register to vote for the Primary Election online or at
the county clerk’s office

June 21,2022

Last day a voter may request an absentee ballot for the Primary Election

June 24,2022

Primary Election in-person early voting ends (a county may extend early voting until June 27th)

Carbon

Clerk: Seth Marsing
seth.marsing@carbon.utah.gov
751 East 100 North, St. 1100
Price, UT 84501

Phone: 435-636-3221

Fax: 435-636-3210

Juab

Clerk: Alaina Lofgran
alainal@juabcounty.com
160 North Main

Nephi, UT 84648
Phone: 435-623-3410
Fax: 435-623-5936

Sanpete

Clerk: Sandy Neil
sneill@sanpetecounty-ut.gov
160 N. Main, Ste. 202

Manti, UT 84642

Phone: 435-835-2131

Fax: 435-835-2144

Wayne

Clerk: Ryan Torgerson
ryan@wayne.utah.gov
18 South Main

P.O. Box 189

Loa, UT 84747
Phone: 435-836-1300
Fax: 435-836-2479

June 28,2022

PRIMARY ELECTION DAY

July 12,2022

Final Primary Election results are certified by the county clerks

September 9, 2022

Candidate biographies/profiles must be submitted for voter information website for general election

September 23, 2022

General Election ballots are sent to military and out-of-country voters

Daggett

Clerk: Brian Raymond
95 N 1st West

P.O. Box 400

Manila, UT 84046
Phone: 435-784-3154
Fax: 435-784-3335

Kane

Clerk: Karla Johnson
clerkkj@kane.utah.gov
76 N. Main St.

Kanab, UT 84741
Phone: 435-644-2458
Fax: 435-644-4939

Sevier

Clerk/Auditor: Steven Wall
scwall@sevier.utah.gov
P.O. Box 607

Richfield, UT 84701
Phone: 435-893-0401
Fax: 435-893-0496

Weber

Clerk/Auditor: Ricky Hatch
rhatch@co.weber.ut.us

2380 Washington Blvd., #320
Ogden, UT 84401

Phone: 801-399-8034

Fax: 801-399-8300

September 30, 2022

Financial disclosure report due

October 18,2022

General Election mail ballots are sent to voters

October 25, 2022

General Election in-person early voting begins

October 28,2022

Last day to register to vote before the November General Election

Davis

Clerk: Curtis Koch
ckoch@co.davis.ut.us
61 S Main St.
Farmington, UT 84025
Phone: 801-451-3213
Fax: 801-451-3421

Millard

Clerk: Marki Rowley
mrowley@co.millard.ut.us
765 S. Highway 99, Ste. 6
Fillmore, UT 84631
Phone: 435-743-6223
Fax: 435-743-6923

Summit

Clerk: Eve Furse
efurse@summitcounty.org
60 N Main, P.O. Box 128
Coalville, UT 84017
Phone: 435-336-3204
Fax: 435-336-3030

October 30, 2022

General election in-person early voting ends (a county may extend early voting until November 2nd)

November 1, 2022

Financial disclosure report due

November 1, 2022

Last day a voter may request an absentee ballot for the General Election

November 8, 2022

GENERAL ELECTION DAY

November 22, 2022

Final General Election results are certified by the county clerks

November 28, 2022

Federal and multi-county candidates are certified by the State Board of Canvassers
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Duchesne

Clerk: JoAnn Evans
jevans@duchesne.utah.gov
734 N Center St.

P.O. Box 270

Duchesne, UT 84021
Phone: 435-738-1228

Fax: 435-738-552

Emery

Clerk: Brenda Tuttle
brendat@co.emery.utah.gov
75 East Main

P.O. Box 907

Castle Dale, UT 84513
Phone: 435-381-3550

Fax: 435-381-5183

Morgan

Clerk: Leslie Hyde
Ihyde@morgancountyutah.gov
48 West Young St., Room 18
P.O. Box 886

Morgan, UT 84050

Phone: 801-845-4011

Fax: 801-829-6176

Piute

Clerk: Kali Gleave
kgleave@piute.utah.gov
550 N. Main

P.O. Box 99

Junction, UT 84740
Phone: 435-577-2840
Fax: 435-577-2433

Tooele

Clerk/Auditor: Tracy Shaw
tracyshaw@tooeleco.org
47 S. Main #318

Tooele, UT 84074

Phone: 435-843-3140
Fax: 435-882-7317

Uintah

Clerk/Auditor: Michael Wilkins
mwilkins@co.uintah.ut.us
147 East Main

Vernal, UT 84078

Phone: 435-781-5360

Fax: 435-781-6701

UPDATED 01/21/2022
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Utah Single vs. Multi-County Legislative Districts

Single vs. Multi-County Legislative and State Board of

Ed ucat|0n D|Str|CtS (click on District to see demographic profiles prepared by the Utah OLRGC)

House Single-County Districts

District 2: Utah
District 3: Cache
District 4: Cache
District 5: Cache
District 6: Utah
District 7: Weber
District 8: Weber
District 9: Weber
District 10: Weber
District 13: Davis
District 14: Davis
District 15: Davis
District 16: Davis
District 17: Davis
District 18: Davis
District 19: Davis
District 20: Davis
District 21: Tooele

District 22: Salt Lake
District 23: Salt Lake
District 24: Salt Lake
District 25: Salt Lake
District 26: Salt Lake

District 27: Utah

District 30: Salt Lake
District 31: Salt Lake
District 32: Salt Lake

District 37: Salt Lake
District 38: Salt Lake
District 39: Salt Lake
District 40: Salt Lake
District 41: Salt Lake
District 42: Salt Lake
District 43: Salt Lake
District 44: Salt Lake
District 45: Salt Lake
District 46: Salt Lake

District 47: Salt Lake
District 48: Utah
District 49: Salt Lake
District 50: Salt Lake
District 51: Salt Lake
District 52: Salt Lake
District 56: Utah
District 57: Utah
District 59: Utah
District 60: Utah
District 61: Utah

District 62: Washington

District 63: Utah
District 64: Utah
District 65: Utah
District 66 Utah
District 67: Utah

Senate Single-County Districts
(Only districts up for election in 2020 listed)

District 6: Salt Lake
District 7: Utah
District 8: Salt Lake
District 10: Salt Lake
District 14: Utah

District 29: Washington

Senate Multi-County Districts
(Only districts up for election in 2020 listed)

District 1: Box Elder; Cache, Tooele

District 13: Salt Lake; Utah

District 16: Utah; Wasatch

District 19: Morgan; Summit; Weber

District 20: Davis; Weber

District 23: Davis; Salt Lake

District 24: Beaver; Garfield; Juab; Kane;
Millard; Piute; Sanpete; Sevier;
Utah; Wayne

District 25: Cache; Rich

District 27: Carbon; Emery; Grand;
San Juan; Utah; Wasatch

District 33: Salt Lake
District 34: Salt Lake
District 35: Salt Lake
District 36: Salt Lake

District 72: Iron
District 74: Washington
District 75: Washington

House Multi-County Districts

District 1: Box Elder; Cache
District 11: Davis; Weber
District 12: Davis; Weber
District 28: Salt Lake; Summit
District 29: Box Elder; Weber
District 53: Daggett; Duchesne; Morgan; Rich;
Summit
District 54: Summit; Wasatch
District 55: Duchesne; Uintah
District 58: Juab; Sanpete
District 68: Beaver; Juab; Millard; Tooele; Utah
District 69: Carbon; Duchesne; Emery; Grand
District 70: Emery; Grand; Sanpete; Sevier
District 71: Iron; Washington
District 73: Beaver; Garfield; Kane; Piute;
San Juan; Sevier; Wayne
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State Board of Education

Single-County Districts
(Only districts up for election in 2020 listed)

District 8: Salt Lake

District 10: Salt Lake
District 13: Utah

State Board of Education

Multi-County Districts
(Only districts up for election in 2020 listed)

District 4: Davis; Weber

District 7: Salt Lake; Summit

District 11: Salt Lake; Utah

District 12: Daggett; Duchesne; Summit;
Uintah; Utah; Wasatch

District 15: Iron; Washington



https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/Senate_Dist01.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/Senate_Dist06.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/Senate_Dist07.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/Senate_Dist08.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/Senate_Dist10.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/Senate_Dist14.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/Senate_Dist29.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist01.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist11.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist12.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist28.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist29.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist53.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist53.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist54.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist55.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist58.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist68.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist69.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist70.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist71.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist73.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist73.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist02.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist03.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist04.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist05.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist06.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist07.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist08.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist09.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist10.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist13.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist14.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist15.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist16.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist17.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist18.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist19.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist20.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist21.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist22.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist23.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist24.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist25.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist26.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist27.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist30.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist31.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist32.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist33.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist34.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist35.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist36.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist37.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist38.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist39.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist40.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist41.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist42.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist43.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist44.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist45.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist46.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist47.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist48.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist49.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist50.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist51.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist52.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist56.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist57.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist59.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist60.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist61.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist62.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist63.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist64.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist65.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist66.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist67.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist72.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist74.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist75.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/Senate_Dist13.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/Senate_Dist16.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/Senate_Dist19.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/Senate_Dist20.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/Senate_Dist23.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/Senate_Dist24.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/Senate_Dist24.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/Senate_Dist24.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/Senate_Dist25.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/Senate_Dist27.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/Senate_Dist27.pdf
https://www.schools.utah.gov/board/members/utah/janetcannon
https://www.schools.utah.gov/board/members/utah/shawnnewell
https://www.schools.utah.gov/board/members/utah/scottneilson
https://www.schools.utah.gov/board/members/utah/jennifergraviet
https://www.schools.utah.gov/board/members/utah/carollear
https://www.schools.utah.gov/board/members/utah/mikehaynes
https://www.schools.utah.gov/board/members/utah/markmarsh
https://www.schools.utah.gov/board/members/utah/markmarsh
https://www.schools.utah.gov/board/members/utah/michelleboulter

