2022 Regular Primary Election Information

The June Primary Election is on Tuesday, June 28, 2022. Click on a question below for more information.

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

1. When will voters receive their ballot?

If you are an active registered voter, then yes, you will automatically receive a ballot in the mail. Click this link to check if you are an active registered voter.

County clerks will start mailing out ballots 21 days before the election and continue doing so until 7 days before the election.


2. What is the deadline to register to vote?

Voter registration must be received by the county clerk before 5:00 pm on Friday, June 17, 2022. However, voters may register to vote at an early voting location or at a polling location on election Day. Please bring at least two forms of identification to the polling location. Click on the links below for more information:


3. Where can someone learn more information about redistricting?

Article IX, Section 1 of the Utah Constitution requires the Utah Legislature to divide the state into new congressional legislative districts no later than the first general session after it receives the official resident data from the U.S. Census Bureau.

The Legislature will also consider feedback from the Legislative Redistricting Committee, the Independent Redistricting Commission, and the public.

  • Utah Legislative Redistricting Committee
  • Utah Independent Redistricting Commission

  • 4. What are the signature requirements to run for office?

    Listed below are the signature gathering requirements for offices up for election in 2022. A candidate must file a “notice of intent to gather signatures” form with the election officer to get the signature gathering packet. In order for a signature to be valid, the person must be an registered Utah voter at the time that their signature is reviewed by the county clerk’s office.

    Before a signature packet can be turned in, the candidate must have reached the required minimum number of signatures before they can be accepted. Supplemental signatures may be turned in at any time following the initial submission. The signatures are verified in the order they are received. Therefore, if a voter signs two packets for candidates in the same race, that voters signature will count toward the candidate that submits the signature first.

    All signatures must be signed physically and cannot be electronically signed.

    United States Senate – 28,000 signatures statewide

    United States House of Representatives – 7,000 signatures from within the district

    Utah State Senate – 2,000 signatures from within the district

    Utah State House – 1,000 signatures from within the district

    State Board of Education – The lesser of 2,000 signatures or 3% of active registered voters of a qualified political party within the state board of education district

    County Office – signatures of 3% of the registered voters who are residents of the area permitted to vote for the county office and are permitted by the qualified political party to vote for the qualified political party’s candidates in a primary election.


    5. When do candidates officially declare for office?

    For both unaffiliated and candidates affiliated with a political party, the deadline is between March 7-11 by 5 p.m.

    The deadline for write in candidates to file for office is August 30th by 5 p.m.


    6. What are the qualifications to run for office?

    You can view the qualifications to run for office in 2022 here.